KLJ Earns 2024 NDSPE Awards

Reading Time: 3 Minutes
KLJ Earns 2024 NDSPE Awards

We are proud to announce that KLJ Engineering (KLJ) and two KLJers, Brad Krogstad and Brent Noonan, recently received recognition from the North Dakota Society of Professional Engineers (NDSPE) Chapter 3. This recognition includes the Project of the Year Award, Bruce Nelson Award, and Outstanding Young Engineer of the Year Award.

Project of the Year Award

KLJ’s Ash Coulee project was honored with the 2024 NDSPE Project of the Year Award. The award recognizes engineering design completed or under construction in the current year. Consideration is given to how a team employs innovative or state-of-the-art engineering practices that make the project unique.

The Ash Coulee project transformed a two-lane rural roadway in Bismarck, ND into a multi-lane urban corridor that included a roundabout, and improved vehicle, pedestrian, and bicycle safety while making improvements to sewer, water, and stormwater infrastructure in the area.

Bruce Nelson Award

Brad Krogstad was honored with the Bruce Nelson Award. This award was established to recognize members of Chapter 3 of the North Dakota Society of Professional Engineers for their exceptional contributions to the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE)/NDSPE, the engineering profession, their communities, and humanity.

Brad works from our Bismarck office and serves as senior project manager for KLJ’s municipal team. Additionally, he serves as a client services manager for land development and parks and recreation work. He joined KLJ in November 2006, and over his career, Brad has made an incredible impact on North Dakota communities by leading the civil engineering design for major projects. These projects have included the Shiloh Christian School Arts and Athletic Complex, University of Mary Marian Grotto, St. Mary’s Central High School Campus, Starion Sports Complex, Mandan Tennis Center, Memorial Ballpark, and many others.

 Outstanding Young Engineer of the Year

Brent Noonan was recognized as Outstanding Young Engineer of the Year. Individuals are evaluated on educational achievements, professional activities, civic and humanitarian activities, continuing competence, engineering achievements, and professional experience. The winner from each chapter (five total) in North Dakota is submitted to the State for consideration. The committee scores each candidate based on the engineer’s work responsibilities, past project experience, community involvement, and involvement within NDSPE. 

Noonan is an engineer in KLJ’s Bismarck office. His leadership extends to numerous land development, site planning, parks and recreation, and municipal projects throughout the region. He earned a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of North Dakota. He currently serves as the Vice President of the North Dakota Society of Professional Engineers (NDSPE) Chapter 3 and served in the North Dakota Army National Guard since 2009.

The NDSPE Chapter 3 spans the following North Dakota counties: Golden Valley, Slope, Bowman, Adams, Hettinger, Stark, Dunn, Billings, McLean, Mercer, Oliver, Morton, Grant, Sioux, Emmons, Burleigh, Wells, Logan, Kidder, Sheridan, McIntosh County.